Three Los Alamos scientists elected 2021 Fell

image: From left to right: Eric Brown, Nathan Moody and Takeyasu Ito, 2021 APS Fellows.
seen Following

Credit: Left to Right: 2021 APS Fellows Eric Brown, Nathan Moody and Takeyasu Ito.

LOS ALAMOS, New Mexico, October 20, 2021-Three scientists from the Los Alamos National Laboratory have been elected members by the American Physical Society (APS). The new APS fellows are Eric Brown, Takeyasu Ito and Nathan Moody.

“I am delighted to see Eric, Takeyasu and Nathan recognized by the American Physical Society,” said Thom Mason, director of the laboratory. “This recognition highlights their contributions to the physics community, and I congratulate each of them for this honor. “

The APS Fellowship Program recognizes APS members who may have made advancements in physics through original research and publications, or made significant innovative contributions in the application of physics to science and technology. They may also have made significant contributions to teaching physics or serving and participating in APS activities.

Los Alamos National Laboratory APS 2021 Fellows:

Eric Brun was named a Fellow for his technical leadership in the physics of materials at high strain rates and pressures, for technical advancements in understanding the mechanical behavior of polymers, and for his leadership and sustained service to the American Physical Society and the shock physics community.

Brown joined the Lab as postdoctoral director in 2003 and was later converted to a technical staff member in the Materials Science and Technology division. He is currently a Principal Investigator in the Bureau of Experimental Science. His research has focused on the fracture and damage of complex heterogeneous polymers and polymer composites for energetic, reactive and structural applications, including crystalline phase transitions, plasticity, dynamic loading conditions, and self-healing materials.

Brown received his BS in Mechanical Engineering in 1998 and his PhD in Theoretical and Applied Mechanics in 2003, both from the University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign.

Takeyasu Ito was selected as an APS Fellow for fundamental studies which led to the development of the world’s most powerful ultra-cold neutron source, for its commissioning and for its application to the precision measurement of the neutron and its decay.

Ito joined the physics division of the Los Alamos National Laboratory as a scientist in 2005. His work focused on using ultra-cold neutrons as a probe to study the consistency of the Standard Model of particle physics and research what might to be beyond. He is currently the focus lead of the Neutron team in the Nuclear and Particle Physics and Applications group of the Physics division of Los Alamos.

He received his doctorate in physics from the University of Tokyo in 1997.

Nathan Moody was selected for fundamental developments in materials physics methods to protect and improve the robustness and performance of photocathodes and critical material surfaces for particle accelerators.

Moody is a member of the technical staff and group leader of the Applied Electro-Dynamics group within the Accelerator Technology and Operations division of the laboratory. He leads Los Alamos’ largest concentration of talent and capacity in science, technology and accelerator engineering in the lab, with teams contributing to the Los Alamos Neutron Science Center, capacity for scientific measurement at the meso dynamic scale and to the two-axis radiographic hydrodynamic test accelerator. installations and projects, as well as multiple global security programs.

He received his Masters and Doctorate degrees in Electrical and Computer Engineering from the University of Maryland at College Park, in 2004 and 2006, respectively.

On Los Alamos National Laboratory
The Los Alamos National Laboratory, a multidisciplinary research institution engaged in strategic science in the name of national security, is managed by Triad, a public service-oriented national security scientific organization owned equally by its three founding members: Battelle Memorial Institute (Battelle), the Texas A&M University System (TAMUS) and the University of California (UC) regents for the National Nuclear Security Administration of the Department of Energy.

Los Alamos strengthens national security by ensuring the safety and reliability of the US nuclear stockpile, by developing technologies to reduce threats from weapons of mass destruction and by solving problems related to energy, environment, infrastructure, to global health and security.

Disclaimer: AAAS and EurekAlert! are not responsible for the accuracy of any press releases posted on EurekAlert! by contributing institutions or for the use of any information via the EurekAlert system.

About Leslie Schwartz

Check Also

Tay Gavin Erickson Fall 2022 Lecture Series Welcomes Belinda Campos: UMass Amherst

On Monday, September 26 at 4 p.m., the Center for Family Research will host Belinda …

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.