County ESC welcomes new board members | News, Sports, Jobs

Morning Journal/Liz Lehman New SEC board members Aaron Hinchliffe and Marilyn Parks attended their first meeting Tuesday evening.

LISBON — The Columbiana County Educational Services Center met for the first time in 2022 and they welcomed their two newest members, Aaron Hinchliffe and Marilyn Parks. In December, council began accepting letters of interest from interested residents of Beaver Local, Southern Local, United Local, Crestview Local and Wellsville Local.

“Ms. Parks is one of many who applied and was duly considered and chosen,” Board Chairman Richard Stout said of Parks.

Parks was formally nominated by the board during an executive session at Tuesday’s meeting. Hinchliffe had been elected in November.

“It is certainly a pleasure for me to welcome you,” said Stoudt. “We look forward to having you on board.” Stoudt also thanked former board members Mark Guy and Paul Taylor for their dedicated service.

In other matters, council members voted to establish a service fund of $20,000 to be used to pay council members’ expenses incurred in the performance of their duties. Board members will be responsible for approving these payments.

The board also voted to allow Superintendent Anna Marie Vaughn to make job offers to candidates for teaching and non-teaching positions when the board is not in session. Council members will vote on the candidates at the next session; then, upon approval, the job should be backdated to when the employee accepted Vaughn’s offer. Employees must always pass a criminal record check and meet any pre-requisites for employment created by law or board policy.

Board members approved the December 2021 financial statements with $1,512,596.56 in invoices and $17,951 for the Bureau of Worker’s Compensation. They also approved three firms as counsel to the ESC: McGown and Markling of Akron; squires Patton and Bogg of Cleveland; Walter Haverfield LLP of Cleveland. The Salem News, The Morning Journal, The Review, and The Vindicator have been approved as official board publications.

Approvals from certified personnel included:

Hiring of Melissa Malito as a limited COTA replacement from January 18 to May 30

Approval of Heather Yoho as Academic Leader of Learning’s Cool After School Program at Crestview Elementary

Hiring of Dolores Alcoces as substitute teacher for the 2021/2022 school year

Hiring Payton Munoz as Academic Lead for Learning’s Cool After School Program at Wellsville Elementary

Recommendations from personnel classified by the Superintendent included:

Resignations of paraeducators Carolyn Baker, Scotina Beadnell, Christopher McKinnon and Tara Brown

Chanie Danks Approved as Activity Leader for Learning’s Cool After School Program at Crestview Elementary

Hiring of paraeducators Delores Alcoces, Jayden Vernaccini, Brianna Welton and Jaimee Santangelo

Paraeducator Brandi Gibson’s resignation accepted

Other approved Superintendent recommendations included:

Haley Eskra as Speech Pathology Intern will be placed with Sarah Bowser at Crestview

Gretchen Kalinay to provide home tuition for United Local

Michael Hively for the CBA Worker Program

The resignation of Jayne Bezeredi, class assistant

A consignment deal with Jeffrey Hughes and Debra Goodman

The next board meeting will be Tuesday, February 15 at the new 5:00 p.m. time after the board elected to move meetings from the old 4:30 p.m. time to better accommodate member schedules. [email protected]

Today’s breaking news and more to your inbox

About Leslie Schwartz

Check Also

An analytical approach to inclusion

EUROPE The creation of the European Higher Education Area has led to changes in universities …