China’s Central Military Commission announces 3 nominees for August 1st Medal

Ahead of the 95th anniversary of the founding of the People’s Liberation Army (PLA) of China, three candidates have been proposed as recipients of the August 1 medal this year, namely Du Fuguo, a young demining soldier, Qian Qihu , winner of the country’s highest scientific award. and technology and Nie Haisheng, commander of the epic Shenzhou-12 manned spaceflight mission.

The acts of the candidates will be made public from Monday to Friday for public scrutiny.

Du Fuguo, 31, was a demining soldier with the PLA. He volunteered to join the demining mission on the China-Vietnam border in June 2015, and on October 11, 2018, an explosion caught Du’s hands and eyes as he tried to protect his comrades during a demining operation in Yunnan Province, southwest China. . In the three years before the accident, Du had entered minefields more than 1,000 times. He had removed over 150 tons of bombs, 400 landmines and handled over 20 emergencies.

Du was awarded the title of “role model of our time” in 2018 and was awarded the title of “heroic demining soldier” a year later.

Another candidate, Qian Qihu, 85, is an academician from the Chinese Academy of Engineering (CAE) who won the country’s top science award, the State Prize for Science and Technology, in 2019 He established China’s modern defense engineering theory system and helped create underground defense infrastructure.

In an exclusive interview with the Global Times in 2019Qian described his work, the “Great Underground Steel Wall,” as the country’s “national last line of defense” that could “guarantee the security of the country’s strategic arsenal” against potential attacks, including those of the future hypersonic weapons.

After his retirement, he actively advised the construction of the Sichuan-Tibet Railway and the Bohai Bay Tunnel, donated his entire prize money of 8 million yuan ($1.2 million) to poor suburban students and donated an additional 6.5 million yuan to support Wuhan. fight against the COVID-19 epidemic.

The other candidate, Nie Haisheng, 58, was the commander of the Shenzhou-12 manned spaceflight mission in June 2021 and was among the first to visit and stay on the Chinese space station for three months. His first spaceflight was on the Shenzhou-6 mission in October 2005, and his second on Shenzhou-10 in June 2013. He was awarded the title of “astronaut hero” after his second space mission, according to the Space Agency. Chinese inhabited.

Nie was honored with a First-Class Aerospace Achievement Medal by the Communist Party of China Central Committee, State Council and Central Military Commission (CMC) after returning from his epic journey in November 2021.

During their 90-day stay in orbit, Nie and his two crew members Liu Boming and Tang Hongbo performed various tasks. Their tasks included transferring and unpacking supplies from the Tianzhou-2 cargo spacecraft to decorate the core module of the space station, performing multi-hour spacewalks twice, and checking the reliability of the robotic arm. smart of the ship.

As the first group of residents in China’s space habitat, they also checked the capability of new onboard regenerative life support systems, laying the groundwork for future missions and the long-term operation of China’s space station.

The August 1 Medal, awarded by the president of the CMC, is the highest honor of the Chinese military. It is awarded to military personnel who have made outstanding contributions to safeguarding national sovereignty, security and development interests, and to promoting the modernization of national defense and the armed forces.

About Leslie Schwartz

Check Also

PROFILE: Philip Ewell ’01, the cellist shaping the racial calculus of music theory

2022 Wilbur Cross recipient and music theorist Dr. Philip Ewell sat down with the News …