3 CQE scientists elected to the National Academy of Sciences, 1 to the American Academy of Arts and Sciences


May 10, 2021 – Three scientists from Chicago Quantum Exchange (CQE) – Nadya mason at the University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign; Laura Gagliardi at the University of Chicago; and Michael wasielewski at Northwestern University – were recently elected to the National Academy of Sciences (NAS), and Mason was also elected to the American Academy of Arts and Sciences (AAAS).

Membership in the National Academy of Sciences is one of the highest professional honors a scientist can receive. Mason, Gagliardi, and Wasielewski are among 120 new U.S. and 30 international members elected to the academy this year, a cohort that includes the most women to be elected to the academy in a single year. They will be inducted at the academy’s annual meeting in 2022.

Mason, Rosalyn Sussman Yalow Professor of Physics at the University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign, has also been elected to the American Academy of Arts and Sciences, one of the nation’s most prestigious honorary societies. She is one of 252 new members elected this year, a class that includes artists, philosophers, journalists, scientists and leaders from the public, nonprofit and private sectors.

Color images taken in the minds of Chicago Quantum Exchange researchers elected to the National Academy of Sciences or the American Academy of Arts and Sciences. From left to right: Nadya Mason, Laura Gagliardi, Michael Wasielewski.

Mason conducts research in quantum electronics and materials, including topological materials, and is the founding director of the Illinois Materials Research Science and Engineering Center. She has received numerous awards, including the Maria Goeppert Mayer Award, the Edward Bouchet Award, the Dean’s Award for Research Excellence in Illinois, and the Denice Denton Emerging Leader Award.

Gagliardi develops new methods of quantum chemistry and models molecular species, materials and interfaces. She is Professor Richard and Kathy Leventhal in the Department of Chemistry and the Pritzker School of Molecular Engineering at the University of Chicago, with a joint appointment at the James Franck Institute. She is also director of the Chicago Center for Theoretical Chemistry and the Inorganometallic Catalyst Design Center.

Wasielewski studies light processes in molecules and materials, artificial photosynthesis, molecular electronics, quantum information science, ultrafast optical spectroscopy, and time-resolved electron paramagnetic resonance spectroscopy. He is Clare Hamilton Hall Professor of Chemistry at Weinberg College of Arts and Sciences at Northwestern University, Executive Director of the Institute for Sustainability and Energy at Northwestern (ISEN), and Director of the Center for Molecular Quantum Transduction, a US-DOE Energy. Border research center.

Source: CQE


About Leslie Schwartz

Check Also

PROFILE: Philip Ewell ’01, the cellist shaping the racial calculus of music theory

2022 Wilbur Cross recipient and music theorist Dr. Philip Ewell sat down with the News …

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.